

Minutes

175 W Jackson Blvd Suite 1550 Chicago, IL 60604 312 913 3200 rtachicago.org

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

The Board of Directors of the Regional Transportation Authority met on Thursday, June 20, 2024, pursuant to notice. Chairman Dillard called the meeting to order at 9:07 a.m. He then recited the pledge of allegiance.

Roll call - watch video

Board members present (13): Andalcio, Carey, Coulson, Fuentes, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Lewis, Pang, Ross, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

Board members absent (2): Holt, Melvin

Approval of minutes from the meetings held on May 16, 2024 - watch video

No questions or comments from RTA Board members.

Director Andalcio moved, and Director Yonan seconded that the minutes from the public meeting held on May 16, 2024, be approved as submitted. The motion carried on the following roll call vote:

13 Ayes: Andalcio, Carey, Coulson, Fuentes, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Lewis, Pang, Ross, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

2 Absent: Holt, Melvin

Public Comment - watch video

Micheal Podger and Adam Kerman provided public comment in person, and Jim Merrell provided written comment which was read into the record by the Board Secretary.

Executive Director's Report - watch video

Executive Director Leanne Redden provided a legislative update, an update on the community planning projects call for projects and the Chicago/Halsted bus lanes previously discussed at the February 2024 Board meeting.



Page 2

<u>Presentation of the Semi-Annual Project Management Oversight Report – watch video</u>

Violet Gunka Gurgul, Division Manager, Project Management, Oversight and Compliance, presented the semi-annual Project Management Oversight (PMO) report. The RTA PMO program performs project oversight for Service Board capital development efforts.

Directors Yonan, Lewis, and Carey asked questions or provided comments following the presentation.

Transit is the Answer update - watch video

Maulik Vaishnav, Senior Deputy Executive Director, Planning and Capital Programming, Peter Kersten, Program Manager, Strategic Plan Implementation, Rob Nash, Director, Government Affairs, and Sarah Rubino, Principal Analyst, Treasury and Budget, provided an update on implementation activities, including an overview of the "Building a More Equitable Fare Structure" draft white paper, the regional day pass pilot proposal, legislative updates on the additional omnibus implementation items and the governance reform proposal, and a monthly financial update.

Directors Coulson, Lewis, Andalcio, Carey, Groven, Lewis, and Gathing asked questions or provided comments following the presentation.

Ordinance approving and releasing the RTA 2023 Annual Comprehensive Report (ACFR)

Ordinance approving the Combining Financial Report and certifying compliance with the RTA Act recovery ratio requirement for 2023 – watch video

John Yu, Controller, and Bill Sarb, Partner, RSM and Maria Prado, Partner, Prado and Renteria, presented two ordinances. The first approved and released the RTA 2023 Annual Comprehensive Financial Report (ACFR). The second ordinance approved the 2023 Combining Financial Report for the RTA and the Service Boards and certified compliance with the RTA Act recovery ratio requirement for 2023.

Director Lewis asked questions or provided comments following the presentation.

Director Carey moved, and Director Coulson seconded that the proposed ordinances be approved as submitted. The motion carried on the following roll call vote:

13 Ayes: Andalcio, Carey, Coulson, Fuentes, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Lewis, Pang, Ross, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

2 Absent: Holt and Melvin



Page 3

Ordinance authorizing an intergovernmental agreement with Service Boards to fund a Regional Day Pass (RDP) pilot – watch video

Maulik Vaishnav presented an intergovernmental agreement (IGA) with Chicago Transit Authority (CTA), Metra, and Pace Suburban Bus (Pace) authorizes the Executive Director to advance a Regional Day Pass (RDP) fare pilot with CTA, Metra, and Pace (collectively the Service Boards) at a cost not to exceed \$1,000,000. Director Groven asked questions or provided comments following the presentation.

Director Groven moved, and Director Sager seconded that the proposed ordinances be approved as submitted. The motion carried on the following roll call vote:

12 Ayes: Andalcio, Carey, Fuentes, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Lewis, Pang, Ross, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

1 No: Coulson

2 Absent: Holt and Melvin

Contracts/Expenditure Items - watch video

Director Gathing moved, and Director Lewis seconded the adoption of the following ordinances, as well as the approval of Board travel expenditures as submitted:

Ordinance authorizing a contract for the 2025 Customer Satisfaction Survey Ordinance authorizing a contract for aerial photography

Approval of travel expense reimbursement

The motion carried on the following leave for a roll call vote:

13 Ayes: Andalcio, Carey, Coulson, Fuentes, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Lewis, Pang, Ross, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

2 Absent: Holt and Melvin

New Business - watch video

Director Ross commented on the Transportation Tuesday webinar series.

Chairman Dillard announced the next RTA Board of Directors meeting is Thursday, July 18, at 9:00 a.m.

Chairman Reappointment - watch video

Director Ross moved and Director Lewis seconded the motion to move the reappointment of Chairman Dillard to the public portion of the meeting instead of moving to a closed Executive Session, and to reappointment Chairman Dillard to a five year term.

The motion carried on the following leave for a roll call vote:

13 Ayes: Andalcio, Carey, Coulson, Fuentes, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Lewis, Pang, Ross, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

2 Absent: Holt and Melvin



Page 4

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u> - watch video

There being no further business to come before the Board of Directors Meeting, Director Ross moved and Director Groven seconded that the meeting adjourn.

The motion carried on the following voice vote:

13 Ayes: Andalcio, Carey, Coulson, Fuentes, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Lewis, Pang, Ross, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

The Board meeting ended at 11:17 a.m.

Joey-Lin Silberhorn

Joey-Lin Silberhorn Secretary of the Authority