

**Minutes** 

175 W Jackson Blvd Suite 1550 Chicago, IL 60604

312 913 3200 rtachicago.org

# MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

The Board of Directors of the Regional Transportation Authority met on Thursday, January 16, 2025, pursuant to notice. Chairman Dillard called the meeting to order at 9:08 a.m. He then recited the pledge of allegiance.

### Roll call - watch video

Board members present (14): Carey, Coulson, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Jenkins, Kotarac, Lewis, Mondero, Ross, Ryan, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

Absent (2): Pang, Retondo

# Approval of minutes from the meetings held on December 19, 2024 – watch video

No questions or comments from RTA Board members.

Director Lewis moved, and Director Yonan seconded that the minutes from the public meeting held on December 19, 2024, be approved as submitted. The motion carried on the following roll call vote:

**14 Ayes:** Carey, Coulson, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Jenkins, Kotarac, Lewis, Mondero, Ross, Ryan, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

2 Absent: Pang, Retondo

### Public Comment - watch video

There was one in-person public comment from Kevin Brubaker, Deputy Director, Environmental Law and Policy Center.

### Executive Director's Report - watch video

Executive Director Leanne Redden congratulated CTA President Carter, and IDOT Secretary Osman on their retirements and provided a brief legislative update.



Page 2

Chairman Dillard provided comments following the presentation.

### Transit is the Answer Update - watch video

Ms. Redden, Rob Nash, Director, Government Affairs, and Sarah Rubino, Principal Analyst, Budget and Treasury, provided a recap of Chairman Dillard's City Club presentation on January 15, a legislative update, and monthly financial results.

Directors Gorman, Carey, Lewis, Mondero, Kotarac, Ryan, Yonan, Gathing, Groven, and Chairman Dillard asked questions or provided comments following the presentation.

### Resolution directing next steps to address the fiscal cliff - watch video

Maulik Vaishnav, Senior Deputy Executive Director, Planning and Capital Programming, and Allison Noback, General Counsel, presented on a resolution

that directs staff and the Service Boards to provide information and the RTA staff to coordinate and present the information at the March board meeting.

Directors Sager, Jenkins, and Kotarac asked questions or provided comments following the presentation.

Director Groven moved, and Director Sager seconded that the proposed ordinance be approved as submitted. The motion carried on the following roll call vote:

**15 Ayes:** Carey, Coulson, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Jenkins, Kotarac, Lewis, Mondero, Retondo, Ross, Ryan, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

1 Absent: Pang

#### Appointment of RTA Pension Trustee – watch video

Director Jenkins moved, and Director Lewis seconded that the proposed ordinance be approved as submitted. The motion carried on the following roll call vote:

**15 Ayes:** Carey, Coulson, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Jenkins, Kotarac, Lewis, Mondero, Retondo, Ross, Ryan, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

1 Absent: Pang

#### Approval of travel expense reimbursement - watch video

Director Carey moved, and Director Gorman seconded that the proposed ordinance be approved as submitted. The motion carried on the following roll call vote:

**15 Ayes:** Carey, Coulson, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Jenkins, Kotarac, Lewis, Mondero, Retondo, Ross, Ryan, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

1 Absent: Pang



Page 3

Chairman Dillard announced the next RTA Board of Directors meeting is Thursday, February 20, at 9:00 a.m.

## ADJOURNMENT - watch video

There being no further business to come before the Board of Directors Meeting, Director Gathing moved and Director Ryan seconded that the meeting adjourn.

The motion carried on the following voice vote:

**15 Ayes:** Carey, Coulson, Gathing, Gorman, Groven, Jenkins, Kotarac, Lewis, Mondero, Retondo, Ross, Ryan, Sager, Yonan, and Chairman Dillard

1 Absent: Pang

The Board meeting ended at 10:45 a.m.

Joey-Lin Silberhorn

Joey-Lin Silberhorn Secretary of the Authority